Replacing the trip springs on the Vandercook SP15

My search for a Vandercook SP15  began roughly one and a half years before locating one, in the deep south of New Zealand.  I’d used one once (during a night course at St Martins in London), but never got to appreciate its intricacies  I’m mechanically-minded but not aware of what to check for, when it came to going over the press I was going to buy.

 As it transpired, there would have been give away signs that the trip springs were broken – ie a lot of inked impression on the cylinder blanket.  Anyhow it was during cleaning once the press arrived that it finally dawned; as the toothbrush knocked the remains of the broken spring out.  Not to worry,though, Fritz at NA graphics soon had my order for new parts as well as a manual.  I had read many articles on Paul Moxon’s Vanderblog concerning the replacement procedure and I was relieved to read read that the springs could be replaced with out the need to remove the cylinder carriage plates. http://vandercookpress.info/vanderblog/?s=replacing+trip+spring

When the parts arrived I made myself a tool (see bottom picture) and set about replacing the springs.

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

