Chip off an old block..

On wet evenings, I like scouring ebay for the odd letterpress bargain. I bought a lot of  advertising blocks, from an old sporting goods shop in Iowa; and they arrived this week. When I proofed them I noticed the golfball block had 1 King  on it.

                   

Strangely my grandfather was a big-time golfer back in the day, called Sam King; I don’t think it would be too much of a stretch to imagine it might be associated with him? This is a  photo of him from the National Portrait Gallery in London (by Bassano), and one of a number of cigarette cards I’ve seen of him- pretty cool, eh?

Sadly this was all before being a golfer, meant big money – so no family fortune. When I told my brother about the block, he requested this print.

     

2 thoughts on “Chip off an old block..

    • Thanks
      I really enjoyed your post on the Lee Valley, it brought back memories of my own ride up there a few years back – nice flower shots too. I spied my first decent sized Pike hiding under a small footbridge on that ride. Certainly a great let to the hussle and bussle of Central London Life. Have you tried a ride up the Wandle? The lower parts are good, though the root ends up a bit higgle piggle in the upper section and the source at Carshalton is a bit of a let down with all of the concrete after quite a wild valley.

Leave a Reply

